Grab a picnic and a glass of wine, stake out your spot on the Great Lawn, and start your weekend off with a free, thrilling, behind-the-scenes exploration with HVSF artists, scholars, and industry experts. These pre-show talks take place every Friday night during the summer season and are open to the public. In case of inclement weather, Prologues are held under the HVSF Theater Tent.

2019 Speakers:

  • Friday, June 14, 6:15pm – HVSF Artistic Director and CYMBELINE Director Davis McCallum with May Adrales, Director of MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING
  • Friday, June 21, 6:15pmCYRANO Playwright and Company Member Jason O’Connell
  • Friday, June 28, 6:15pmCYRANO Director Meredith McDonough
  • Friday, July 5, 6:15pm – Cast and Creative of HVSF’s Touring JULIUS CAESAR
  • Friday, July 12, 6:15pmSplit Rock Books presents Benjamin Dreyer, Author of Dreyer’s English
  • Friday, July 19, 6:15pm – HVSF Education Intern Caitlyn Halvorsen with Martine Green-Rogers, President of LMDA and SUNY New Paltz Associate Professor of Theatre Arts
  • Friday, July 26, 6:15pm – Dr. Seth Herbst, West Point Assistant Professor of English
  • Friday, August 2, 6:15pmINTO THE WOODS Director Jenn Thompson
  • Friday, August 9, 6:15pmHVSF2 Playwright John Leonard Pielmeier, Author of Hook’s Tale
  • Friday, August 16, 6:15pm – Katharine Goodland, CUNY Professor of Literature and Drama
  • Friday, August 23, 6:15pm – HVSF Education Programs Manager Marie D’Apice with Cyrus Mulready, SUNY New Paltz Associate Professor of English
  • Friday, August 30, 6:15pm – Company Members José Gamo and Luis Quintero
  • Friday, September 6, 5:45pm – Speaker to be announced